Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman

Wellington Hotel - Conference Venue - Restaurant & Bar

169 Willis Street, Wellington, NZ | Ph: (04) 385 1304
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Meetings & Conferences

Offering a range of affordable options

Free Wi-Fi

In all rooms throughout the hotel

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Guest Reviews

"Fabulous"

Rutendo, 8.8/10 Reviewed 9th December 2018 on Booking.com

Property was nice and clean at arrival, everything we needed was located in our room. Property was nice and close to everything which was good because didn’t really want to be using a car in the busy streets of Wellington.

"Centrally Based"

Caraveningcouple, 5/5 Reviewed 6th December 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

We visited Wellington for two nights, travelling down from Hamilton on the scenic railway and flying back there with Air New Zealand and had a lovely time staying at this hotel. We had two buffet breakfasts with plenty of choice to suit all tastes and the staff couldn’t be more helpful. One evening meal too which was excellent. The room was perfectly comfortable, clean and provided all we needed and we slept well too.

"Cheap and Cheer full"

Jocablebay, 4/5 Reviewed 9th November 2018 on TripAdvisor

Stayed here for a night over in Wellie to see the ballet. We wanted something clean, close to the theater and central but didn't need anything fancy. Perfect for our needs - reception staff super friendly and helpful, room spotless and great location for what we were doing.
Bedroom area was well maintained and bathroom clean and functional although could do with an update at some stage. Windows could do with new insulation foam to reduce noise and wind sound.
We didn't eat here as it was so close to lots of great eating spots (Neo for breakfast was stunning and Burger Liquor, both a quick stroll away, were excellent). Would definitely stay here again but maybe would choose elsewhere if it was a special occasion.

"Nice Stay"

SashaB, 4/5 Reviewed 8th November 2018 on TripAdvisor

Staff were very accommodating on my arrival. The rooms were relatively clean (miss on the view) for a mid range budget. The restaurant down stairs were good for a few drinks to meet new people. Location was a bit of a walk to other places, but easily to access.

"Our stay at the Mercure Wellington"

johmdH5041YQ, 4/5 Reviewed 14th November 2018 on TripAdvisor

We enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The room was a good size and in good condition. We had a good sleep for the two nights we stayed. We did not use the dining room this time as we did not have breakfast in our package.

"Night Staff were exceptional"

Escape15, 4/5 Reviewed 30th October 2018 on TripAdvisor

I arrived on a very late/early flight in from Sydney and didn't arrive at the hotel until after 1am, that staff were exceptional - they processed my check in quickly and were also kind enough to let me know that if there was anything I needed that they would be on reception all night and to not hesitate to let them know. The perfect amount of speed, accuracy and care.

"Work Trip"

Paul J, 4/5 Reviewed 31st October 2018 on TripAdvisor

This was a work trip, it is in a good location in the city.It has an inhouse restaurant and has a good selection of food on the menu and a happy hour for drinks.The hotel is in a good clean condition.

"Lovely stay in the Heart of wellington"

Blackwatch2016, 5/5 Reviewed 4th October 2018 on TripAdvisor

Staff friendly and helpful Rooms clean and well maintained Restaurant and breakfast lovely Extras in room such as a range of teas and coffees and ear plugs. Room serviced well every day Used the conference rooms worked well and the staff were wonderful.

"New Zealand May Break"

FJB56, 4/5 Reviewed 25th September 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

Having read some of the reviews of the Mercure Abel Tasman I was a little sceptical. We arrived off the train from Auckland around 1930hrs and check in was quick but not as friendly as expected from an Accor hotel. When we got to our room it was not what I had booked. The room we were suppose to have had was crossed out on the checkin form and were given the other room. As we were staying for 6 nights I checked with the manager the next morning and all was sorted with a minimum of fuss. Thank you Mercure. The Mercure Abel Tasman is an older hotel and does not have air con but the room we had was spacious and very clean. Be prepared for traffic noise if you have the window open. The hotel is centrally located and a short walk from restaurants, theatres, shopping and the museum. A couple of doors down from the hotel is a dining area with 15-20 food stalls. We ate here regularly and the food was delicious. We had dinner one night at the hotel and it was very nice. The main came with a drink included in the price. Great value. Breakfast was a simple but enjoyable buffet. You could also order al a carte. The hotel has very good coin operated washing and drying machines. Great value for money hotel.

"one night stay"

alexfanning001, 4/5 Star Review Received 8th August 2018 from TripAdvisor

Very helpful staff and the room was clean. For $80 it was well worth it. Normal price is around $120, but still worth that much. They allowed me to check in early at 12:00PM which was also appreciated. Would stay again.

"Well located, clean and tidy"

LG, 4/5 Star Review Received 31st August 2018 from TripAdvisor

Stayed here for two nights. Conveniently located near the university, our main destination. Handy to Cuba St, couple of Cafes and a market place food court on the same street. Stayed in a twin room - nice to have one large bed (king, not queen as expected) and a single - beds were comfy. The decor and building is a bit dated but clean and tidy. Check in was swift and friendly. The buffet breakfast in the ground floor restaurant was nice but nothing stood out particularly. One night was spent in a street facing room on the 3rd floor - a bit noisy with voices from the street. The second night was another booking, this time facing the rear on the 4th floor so no view but quieter overnight. Would happily stay here again for the location and a reasonably priced room but not if you are looking for something luxurious or modern.

"Very central and comfortable"

Emma, 8/10 Reviewed 10th August 2018 on Bookings.com

Very centrally located, comfortable hotel. Only issue worth noting was the noise at night time, but it is right in the middle of the city! And they provide ear plugs. The bar was lovely and cosy too. Would recommend to couples or groups of friends.

"Exceptional"

Dawn, 10/10 Reviewed 21st August 2018 on Bookings.com

Very handy location to most things in the CBD. Good price for the Sunday night we stayed.

"Central Wellington location"

Billie, 9.2/10 Reviewed 1st July 2018 on Bookings.com

Clean, tidy, and simple. All that we needed for a weekend stay. Working distance to shops and restaurants and some good cafes across the street. Would stay again.

"Fabulous"

Lara, 8.8/10 Reviewed 10th June 2018 on Bookings.com

Only suggestions would be to have a better guide to the services that the hotel offers and not just a one pager flyer. I had trouble getting the Sky TV and then when i did most of the free channels that come with a Sky package were not available, only the discovery, 1 movie channel (not a good one either) 3 odd sports channels (bit of an overkill on the sports side) and 2 news channels. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and both the front line staff and housekeeping were all very friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed my stay and even though i provided a couple of suggestions that would improve my overall experience in the future in the next section, I would definitely stay again at the Abel Tasman Mecure - Wellington.
Thanks.

"A Mercure hotel that delivers"

MariaFrancesalNZ, 4/5 Reviewed 18th June 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

This hotel is value for money. the rooms are spacious enough and took into account the needs of a business traveler. the staff are very friendly. you must try to dine in the restaurant. the menu selection is really good and the service is superb. no fuss and they deliver value for money.

"Location, Comfort, Value"

Chocfisshh, 5/5 Reviewed 17th June 2018 on Tri Advisor.com

Stayed 3 nights for Work in the Capital - the Hotel was all I needed.
This is nicely positioned in Willis St but away from the busy part of Willis meant CBD was 5mins walk from the hotel. It is also less than 5mins walk from Cuba St and a few more minutes to Courtney Place, Te Papa and the Waterfront. Right next door is a Food Hall that offers varieties of menus and very affordable eating.
The cost of staying here is more than reasonable. Book direct with the hotel or use your Accor Loyalty membership to get the best deals.
The room is comfortable and the bed gave me the best travel sleep in a long while.
Staff and Service complimented the hotel nicely.
I would stay here again. It meets all my travel needs when in Wellington for business or pleasure.

“The staff were very helpful, which includes reception, and housekeeping staff.”

Ingrid, 10/10 Reviewed 21st May 2018 on Bookings.com

Personally, I found the bed a little too firm. It would be nice to have the choice of green tea along with the tea and coffee. These two items are personal to my own needs. Nice rooms, equipped with all the usual needs, fridge, kitchenette, toiletries etc.

"Great Stay"

M2nkin, 4/5 Reviewed 2nd May 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

Hotel in a great location only a few minutes walk to Te Papa or Michael Fowler Center. The earplugs were appreciated as the only down side was the rather loud night life. Room was clean and comfortable.

"Exceptional"

Paul, 10/10 Review Received 25th March 2018 from Booking.com

Handy for Courtney Place and Cuba Street. Comfortable room and good amenities. Great street food court just a minutes walk.

“I would highly reccomened and will definitely book again.”

Moe-moana, 10/10 Review Received 20th March 2018 from Booking.com

Parking underground was very helpful and at a good price. It had a awesome location with lots to see and eat. The restaurant and food menu were on point at a good price too.

“Great place to stay when in Wellington. Will definitely stay here again”

Averil, 10/10 Review Received 4th December 2017 from Booking.com

This hotel was rated 3.5 stars but from my experience it was higher than that. I had six adult members of my immediate family staying there in three rooms and we all said that we will definitely stay here again when we are in Wellington. It was great. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, thank you Mercure Abel Tasman

“Stay was very enjoyable and location suited my purpose for being in Wellington.”

Paul, 10/10 Review Received 23rd October 2017 from Booking.com

Continental breakfast excellent, location excellent for access to the reunion activities I was attending, bed was comfortable, shower excellent, not disturbed by any other occupants. Felt safe walking back to the hotel at night from functions.

“Good location,very affordable, helpful staff and most of all comfortable”

Raymalee, 10/10 Review Received 31st August 2017 from Booking.com

Very good location and the room was exactly what we wanted. It was presented well and covered all our needs. The bed was comfortable, the shower had great pressure. Would definitely stay there again. Staff were extremely helpful.

"Convenient, Excellent Service - Will Return"

Familyof4_Boys2014, 4/5 Review Received 27th March 2018 from Trip Advisor

Stayed at the Abel Tasman for 7 nights. The hotel is located near shopping at Lambton Quay, restaurants on Cuba Street and easy access to the main highway system. 169 Bistro serves a good breakfast buffet with hot food, meat, fruit and anything you need. Service at the hotel and the Bistro were excellent, very pleasant and willing to offer / provide any information required from shopping to dinner.
The rooms were simple but as required. WiFi was consistent and dependable. Television offered only 6 channels or so. Not an expensive hotel so there were a few noticeable tired parts of the room - some spots on the roof & floor and wall-paper seams lifting in a few places. Nothing to fret about as the pro outweighed the cons.
Given the need or opportunity I will use the Abel Tasman again.

"Good location"

Emma, 4/5 Review Received 13th March 2018 from Trip Advisor

Friendly staff which gives you good information. Quick check in. Large room with a large and good bed. Good bathroom with a nice shower. Shops and restaurants nearby. Good location and value for money.

"Regular Customer"

Lovi C, 5/5 Review Received 19th January 2018 from Trip Advisor

Frequently stay here through out the year. Close to where I go to my meetings. Room is serviced daily. If we needed more towels reception willing to accommodate for free. Enjoy the meals, and staff are friendly.

"Short walk to Theaters"

Allwnh50, 4/5 Review Received 3rd December 2017 from Trip Advisor

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of the Opera House and the St James Theater this could be the place for you. And it's a short walk down Willis Street to Lambton Quay as well.

"Highly recommend"

Deborah, 5/5 Review Received 12th January 2018 from Expedia

Single mum with 2 kids, the triple bed option was perfect. There was still more then enough room, the bathroom was large. The accessories supplied ie. tea/coffee/cups/plates, hairdryer etc were of a high standard. Beds were comfortable. The staff at the front counter were most helpful with advice on where to eat and tourist attractions. Central in location to city, tourist attractions and waterfront

"Excellent"

Niue, 4/5 Review Received 2nd January 2018 from Expedia

Everything was sooooooo enjoyable mercure hotel was comfortable close and sooooooo clean would so go back stay at this hotel again. Thank you mercure hotel

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation

Rachel (group of friends), Christchurch, New Zealand - 9.6/10 Reviewed 9th February 2012

"The Hotel was really nice. Great Location. Good view from the 6th floor. Really pleased with everything in Hotel. Would stay again for sure. Price is good."

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Conference Meeting and Functions Venue

Dave Wickham, People First

"Thanks for the excellent service you gave us last night. The staff were all very cheerful, pleasant and helpful and joined in and were interested in the proceedings. This makes such a difference. I also have to say that their interaction with the people with disability was inclusive and respectful. Well done."